Carved Celtic Knotwork

I married Mr. Crazy in 1997. In doing so, I married a woodcarver who came from a long line of woodcarvers. So, there was little to do, but try my hand at woodcarving. Below is the very first (and last) project I carved. Of course, being the over-achiever that I am – I designed a Celtic Knotwork Pattern to carve. Yep, it was hard, and it’s not perfect, but I did it all myself.

Unfortunately, I carved this about 10 years ago and it’s just been hanging around in an unfinished state.

So, I did some final sanding on it and stained it:

Then, I hung it and a Scottish Thistle carved by Mr. Crazy’s uncle Clarence (I told you it runs in the family!) and hung them over the nasty screw holes that were left when taking down the kitchen cabinet above the peninsula/bar:

OOPS! Not a good job of dusting the thistle or hiding the fact that we haven’t installed the new outlet covers.

Let’s try that again:

There, that’s better!

And what’s even better is – I didn’t spend a cent for this. I had the sanding sponge and I had the stain. FREE ART!!

I’m not crazy about the spacing of these 2 plaques, but due to the placement of the screw holes, this is where they had to be. I’ll be adding another piece between them to balance it out. Later.

PS – If you pay attention to tags, you will find “Irish Decor” on this one and a lot more to follow. Between Mr. Crazy and I, we have Irish, Scottish and English blood coursing through our veins, so Celtic music and art are a huge part of our lives. Stay tuned for much more decor in this vein as we turn our dining room into an Irish Pub.

Leave a comment